Editor: The following is an overview of the status of the various state/territory visa programs as they currently stand at the date of publication.


The Victorian Business Innovation Stream SC 188A program is open for new applications.

Applicants are required show that the proposed business activity will contribute to the Victorian economy
through both innovation and job creation.

They advise that standard nomination processing time is 12 weeks.

Further information on other streams in the program should be notified in the coming weeks.


South Australia

Skilled Visa Program

Applications for SA state nomination will open at 8am, Tuesday 20 July 2021.

The skilled migration program will focus on the following programs:


Business Visa Program

Applications for state nomination for the SC 188 Business Innovation, Investor & Significant Investor
streams will open on Tuesday 20th July 2021.

Application access for the SC 188 Entrepreneur stream will proceed in August 2021.

Additionally, changes have been made to the application processes for the Business Migration Program. The requirement for an exploratory visit to SA is no longer required, nor is the requirement to submit an Intention
to Apply form necessary.

Assessment for state nominated SC 188 applications will be undertaken quarterly, with the approximate dates for these rounds as follows:

  • Round 1 Assessments: 2 August 2021 – 24 September 2021
  • Round 2 Assessments: 25 October 2021 – 17 December 2021
  • Round 3 Assessments: 31 January 2022 – 25 March 2022
  • Round 4 Assessments: 2 May 2022 – 24 June 2022


Western Australia

​The WA Skilled Migration Occupation List (WASMOL) has been increased by 74 occupations for skilled state
nomination and to include two lists with differing requirements.

The lists provide the status for the occupation (available, under review and closed) and those that are available for WA regional locations only.

The Graduate stream requirements remain unchanged.



Business and Skilled Migration Queensland (BSMQ) will be changing its name to Migration Queensland and launching a new website towards the end of July.

New SC 188 criteria will be introduced when that program opens in late July 2021. Applicants nominated for SC 188 visas prior to 1 July will be assessed under the current criteria.

A new Designated Area Migration Agreement (DAMA) came into effect on 18 June 2021, effectively replacing the first year version of that DAMA. Changes to occupations
included the removal of 33 occupations, and the addition of 110 new occupations including some skills level 5 occupations and 7 non-ANZSCO occupations.

Also included in the new DAMA is an age concession when nominating for ENS SC 186 visa of 55 years for all skill level 1 occupations and aircraft maintenance, and 50 for skills level 2-4 occupations.

Further information on these and other changes to the FNQ DAMA area available on the Cairns Chamber of Commerce website


Australian Capital Territory

The ACT invitation round for 14 July 2021 saw 6 x SC 190and 128 x SC 491 (critical skills occupations)
invitations issued.

The next round of invitations will be 23 July 2021

Please contact us for more information, or consult the relevant State/Territory web site for further detail.

At date of writing no updates were available for either NSW or the Northern Territory.

This newsletter only provides general information related to current migration matters. The information contained in this communication does not constitute specific migration advice, and should not be construed or relied on as such. Professional advice should be sought for the specifics of your situation prior to any
action being taken. BD Welsh and Co disclaims any liability (including,
without limitation, for any direct or indirect or consequential costs, loss or damage or loss of profits)
arising from anything done or omitted to be done by any party in reliance, whether wholly or partially, on
any of the information contained in this newsletter. Any party that relies on the information does so at its
own risk. Liability limited by a scheme approved under Professional Standards Legislation.